History Notes for SSC : The Vedic Age- Part 3

In the last chapter, we studied about the Shrutis of the Vedic Literature. In this chapter, we will study about the Vedic Literature: Smritis.

So let’s begin.

Vedic Literature: Smritis

We will study 4 types of Smritis:

  • Puranas
  • Vedangas
  • Sutras
  • Epics
  • Other texts

1. Puranas:

  • The meaning of Puranas is “Old Books”.
  • There are 18 Puranas in number
  • Important Puranas are:
    • Matsya Puran: Oldest Puranas
    • Other Puranas are Vishnu Purana, Garud Purana

2. Vedangas:

  • Meaning of the word Vedangas: Limbs of the Vedas
  • Six Vedangas are:
    • Shiksha: it means phonetics
    • Jyotisha: it means astrology
    • Chhand: it means metrics
    • Nirukta: it means Etymology
    • Vyakrana: it means Grammar
    • Kalpa Sutra: Also called Sutras

3. Sutras:

It is one of the Vedangas: Kalpa Sutra

There are 3 types of Sutras:

  • Griha Sutra: Related to household and family
  • Dharm Sutra: Regarding society and duties
  • Sraut Sutra: Regarding Sacrifices

4. Epics:

It is the most important part of the chapter. There are two most important Epics:

  • Ramayana:

    • Written by Valmiki
    • It has 2400 verses
    • It is also called Adikavya
  • Mahabharata:

    • It is the largest Epic
    • It is written by Ved Vyas
    • It has 100,000 verses
    • It has many names:
      • Jai Samhita
      • Shat Shastra Samhita (as it has 100,000 verses)
      • Pancham veda/ Fifth veda
    • Mahabharata is divided into “Parvans”
    • Bhagvat Gita is taken from “Bhism Parvan”
    • “Shanti Parvan” is the largest Paravan

With this we come to an end of Smritis. We will now read some important miscellaneous facts:

  • Book of grammar( Vyakrana) : Astadhyai by Panini
  • Book for vedic mathematics: Sulva sutra
  • Law book of hindus: Manusmriti (written by King Manu)
  • Important References:
    • Satameva Jayate: Mundaka Upanishad
    • Tamso ma Jyotirgmaya: Vrihadnayaka Upanishad
    • Gayatri mantra: Rig veda
    • Athithi Devo bhava: Taittrya Upanishad
    • Bhagvad Gita: Bhism parvan, Mahabharata

With this we come to the end of the chapter. The next chapter will be “Rise of Mahajanapadas”.

To read the next chapter: Rise of Mahajanapadas – CLICK HERE

To watch the video tutorial of the chapter see below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *